• banner-2014-2015-season

  • banner-tom-rush

  • banner-paula-cole

  • banner-capitol-steps

just announced section starts here

2014-15 SEASON

Mary Chapin Carpenter 160

The 2014-15 Season’s Jazz, Folk and Pop Concerts feature such incredible artists as Mary Chapin Carpenter, John Hiatt, Marcus Roberts Trio and Steep Canyon Rangers.  The Season also includes the Metropolitan Opera in HD and the HD broadcast of England’s National Theatre.  Click for a CALENDAR listing.

 

JAZZ, FOLK, POP & WORLD CONCERTS

METROPOLITAN OPERA IN HD  |  NATIONAL THEATRE OF LONDON

 

CLASSICAL SEASON

St. Lawrence String Quartet, Nov 25, 2013

Rockport Music’s 2014-15 Classical Season starts on September 6 with guitarist Sharon Isbin and continues in October with the St. Lawrence String Quartet and November brings pianist Sergey Schepkin performing Bach’s Complete Partitas for Keyboard. CLASSICAL CONCERTS

 

COMMUNITY EVENTS  New this year, take a look at our Community Connections concerts that are part of our Education & Outreach programs.

SUMMER AT ROCKPORT

Paula-Cole-small

Enjoy a range of musical experiences in Cape Ann this summer from Rockport native and singer-songwriter Paula Cole to 60′s folk icon Tom Rush. Also, enjoy side-splitting political satire with Capitol Steps.  LEARN MORE

AUGUST

Friday, August 22, 8 PM
The Kingston Trio

Saturday, August 23, 8 PM
Sunday, August 24, 5 PM
Tom Rush

Monday, August 25, 7 PM
Free Live Opera
Richard Strauss: Celebrating 150 Years

Wednesday, August 27, 7 PM
Musical Tribute to John Sparks
Ghostlight Chorus & David Deveau, piano

Thursday, August 28, 8 PM
Friday, August 29, 8 PM
Paula Cole

Saturday, August 30, 3 & 8 PM
Capitol Steps

SEPTEMBER

Thursday, September 4, 7 PM
National Theatre in HD: Medea

Friday, September 5, 8 pm
Cantrip

Saturday, September 6, 7 PM
Sharon Isbin, classical guitar

Tuesday, September 16, 7 PM
National Theatre in HD: A Streetcar Named Desire

Thursday, September 25, 8 PM
Joan Osborne

Saturday, September 27, 8 PM
Melanie

OCTOBER

Wednesday, October 1, 7 PM
Sowah Mensah, West African drummer (free)

Friday, October 3, 8 PM
Ryan Montbleau

Saturday, October 11, 12:55 PM
Met Live: VERDI: Macbeth

Wednesday, October 15, 8 PM
Arrival from Sweden-The Music of ABBA

Saturday, October 18, 10 AM (Location: TBD)
Harvest Festival: Make Your Own Instrument

Saturday, October 18, 12:55 PM
Met Live: MOZART: Le Nozze di Figaro

Sunday, October 19, 5 PM
John Hiatt Solo

Saturday, October 25, 8 PM
St. Lawrence String Quartet

Sunday, October 26, 3 PM
Sphinx Virtuosi & Catalyst Quartet

Tuesday, October 28, 7 PM
National Theatre in HD: Skylight

NOVEMBER

Saturday, November 1, 12:55 PM
Met Live: BIZET: Carmen

Saturday, November 1, 8 PM
Pine Hill Project: Lucy Kaplansky & Richard Shindell

Thursday, November 6, 8 PM
Steep Canyon Rangers

Saturday, November 8, Time TBD
Jazz on the Rocks–Take 5
Eddie Palmieri Latin Jazz Band

Sunday, November 9, 3 PM
Alumni of the Yale Russian Chorus and Yale Women’s Slavic Chorus

Sunday, November 16, 3 PM
Sergey Schepkin, piano

Thursday, November 20, 7 PM
ETHEL (free)

Friday, November 21, 8 PM
Saturday, November 22, 8 PM
Mary Chapin Carpenter

DECEMBER

Sunday, December 7, 3 & 7 PM
Cape Ann Big Band

Saturday, December 13, 12 PM
Met Live:WAGNER: Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg

Monday, December 15, 4:30 & 8 PM
A Christmas Celtic Sojourn

Saturday, December 20, 7 PM
Holiday Community Sing (free)

JANUARY

Sunday, January 11, 3 PM
Handel & Haydn’s Guy Fishman, cello & Ian Watson, fortepiano

Saturday, January 17, 12:55 PM
Met Live: LEHÁR: The Merry Widow 

Thursday, January 22, 7 PM
National Theatre in HD: Treasure Island

Saturday, January 31, 12:55 PM
Met Live: OFFENBACH: Les Contes d’Hoffmann 

FEBRUARY

Sunday, February 8, 3 PM
Boston Children’s Chorus

Wednesday, February 11, 7 PM
Opera 101: The Beginnings

Saturday, February 14, 12:30 PM
Met Live: TCHAIKOVSKY: Iolanta
BARTÓK: Duke Bluebeard

Wednesday, February 18, 7 PM
Opera 101: Opera’s Maleable Style, Baroque Responses

Saturday, February 28, 2-7:30 PM
Diploma in a Day

Saturday, February 28, 8 PM
Brentano Quartet

MARCH

Wednesday, March 4, 7 PM
Opera 101: Opera’s Themes Expand: Classical

Tuesday, March 10, 8 PM
Danú

Saturday, March 14, 12:55 PM
Met Live: ROSSINI: La Donna del Lago

Saturday, March 14, 8 PM
Leo Kottke

Wednesday, March 18, 7 PM
Opera 101: Wagner, Verdi & the Exploration of Continuous Drama

Sunday, March 22, 3 PM
American Brass Quintet

Sunday, March 29, 3 PM
Brattle Street Chamber Players

APRIL

Thursday, April 16, 7 PM
Harlem Quartet (free)

Saturday, April 25, 12:30 PM
Met Live: MASCAGNI: Cavalleria Rusticana
LEONCAVALLO: Pagliacci

 

 

Rockport Music News

New Concerts On Sale

Newly added to next year’s line-up are John Hiatt, Leo Kottke, Marcus Roberts Trio and Arrival from Sweden, the leading ABBA tribute band!  Tickets on sale now!

New Mobile App

Rockport Music announces its new MOBILE APP!  Now available through your iphone or android app store, this new app makes purchasing tickets easy through your phone.

Open Houses this Summer!

During summer months, we open the Shalin Liu Performance Center  for open houses 11am-12:30 pm several days a week.  Click for more details.

CALENDAR OF EVENTS

Education
& Community

Rockport Music is dedicated to fostering an appreciation of music through accessible programs for people of all ages. Providing programs to students throughout Cape Ann, watch our education video (to the right) to learn more.

A Musical Tribute to John Sparks
Wednesday, August 27, 7 PM

A musical tribute concert will be performed by Artistic Director David Deveau and the Ghostlight Chorus in memory of Trustee John Sparks who passed away in May. Free, no tickets required.  A reception will follow the concert.  Learn More

Youth Education Programs
Adult Enrichment Programs
Upcoming Concerts and Events

slpc-beauty-shot

Experience the
Shalin Liu Performance Center